Assembly Election 2017 : Voting Begins in Himachan Pradesh

November 09 2017
Assembly Election 2017 : Voting Begins in Himachan Pradesh

The counting for all 68 Assembly constituencies will simultaneously start at 8 a.m. on December 18.

Shimla - Voting began in the hill state of Himachal Pradesh this morning in 68 constituencies where 337 candidates including 62 MLAs are in the fray.

A total of 50,25,941 voters are eligible to cast their vote.

As many as 7,525 polling booths have been set up in the state and 37,605 polling personnel have been deputed for poll duty.

Besides 17,850 personnel of police and Home Guards and 65 companies of central paramilitary force have been deployed

Congress CM Virbhadra Singh and the BJP's CM candidate PK Dhumal will fight it out as Himachal Pradesh votes for a new government. Polling will begin at 8 am in the hill state's 68 assembly constituencies. The BJP hopes the state will continue its trend of not voting the same party to power.

Results will be announced 40 days later on December 18, along with those for Gujarat, which votes next month.