By-Polls In 6 States, Centre’s first test on Demonetisation

November 19 2016
By-Polls In 6 States, Centre’s first test on Demonetisation

New Delhi: Voting began for by-elections in 4 Lok Sabha constituencies and 10 assembly seats across 6 states and one union territory on Saturday morning in polls, and it is seen as the first real test for the BJP-led government at the Centre following the ban on 500 and 1000 rupee notes.

Among the four Lok Sabha seats, two are from West Bengal and one each from Assam and Madhya Pradesh. By-polls are being held for three assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu, two in Tripura, one each in Assam, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and Arunachal Pradesh and the union territory of Puducherry.

In West Bengal, by-elections are under way in Cooch Behar and Tamluk Lok Sabha constituencies and in Monteswar assembly constituency. Demonetisation has become a key issue in the last lap of campaign for the by-polls in West Bengal.

In Tamil Nadu, voting is being held in the assembly segments of Thiruparankundram, Thanjavur and Aravakurichi and one in Nellithope, Puducherry. Nearly 7.54 lakh voters are expected to cast their votes and decide the fate of 81 candidates in the constituencies of Thirupparankundram, Aravakkurichi and Thanjavur.

In Assam, more than 1.7 million electors will choose the fate of eight candidates in the fray for the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency and Baithalangso assembly constituency.

The by-election is being held for the Khowai and Barjala assembly seats in Tripura and Hayuliang assembly seat in Arunachal Pradesh. In Madhya Pradesh, by-elections are being held for the Shahdol Lok Sabha constituency and Nepanagar assembly seats.